March 31, 2006


  • One of the easiest things to do whenever you’re in a spot (of your own doing, of course) is to play victim. Or at least point the blame somewhere else. Genes, childhood abuse, poverty, deprivation, etc. And if not all the blame, at least, part of the blame.


    That’s what supermodel Naomi Campbell did. After being arrested for assaulting her assistant (Naomi took a leaf from Russell Crowe’s infamous phone fling), she put it down to ‘lingering resentment towards her father who left her as a child.’ I'm sure that's true, but I also believe one has to take responsibility for one's action anyhow.



    Campbell, who grew up in South London, said that her father abandoned the family before she was born and her mother was often gone because she worked long hours to send her daughter to prestigious schools to study singing, drama and ballet.


    "I've not always displayed my anger in the appropriate time," she said in a 2000 TV interview in which she said she had attended a U.S. clinic to help manage her anger. "It's a manifestation of a deeper issue, I think. And that, to me, I think is based on insecurity, self-esteem and loneliness."


    [More]


    Her anger-management issue notwithstanding, I think fame perhaps has a way of amplifying insecurity and loneliness. Age catches up, looks fade, possessions lose their glitter, friends drift away, even family disappoints. On what then should a person build a life on?

Recent Posts

Categories